Iyengar Yoga - Omkarananda Ganga Sadan Patanjala Yoga Kendra

Iyengar Yoga

Sage Patanjali, who has written on this subject in his treatise Yoga Darshana defines yoga as chitta vritti nirodha. Chitta is the consciousness which includes the mind, the intellect and the ego. Yoga is a method of silencing the vibrations of the chitta.


"Perform each Asana as a Mantra and each pose as a Meditation then the light will dawn from the centre of your being."

The eight aspects (astanga) of yoga are :

  • Yama and niyama

  • Asanas

  • Pranayama

  • Pratyahara

  • Dharana

  • Dhyana

  • Samadhi


Yogacharya B.K.S. Iyengar with his intellectual and spiritual practices has masterminded the techniques which can be used by all practitioners of yoga. "Research based experience" and "experience based research" has helped him in evolving this technique which is now known as"Iyengar Yoga". He has therefore made it possible for ordinary human beings to experience the wisdom of the yoga sutras.

Iyengar yoga is meant for all and is a way of life. The use of props, designed by Guruji , such as wooden gadgets, belts and ropes helps the practitioner to achieve perfection in any asana. Regular practice of 'Iyengar Yoga' definitely integrates the body, mind and emotions.

Iyengar Yoga can be practiced by all.

The emphasis is given to precision and alignment in all postures. An "Iyengar Yoga" practitioner is also aware of the sequence in which different groups of asanas have to be performed.

"" - B.K.S. Iyengar

Last Updated on:
Copyright 2016 Omkarananda Ashram Himalayas
DHTML Menu / JavaScript Menu - Created using OpenCube NavStudio Software.

Omkarananda Ganga Sadan - Patanjala Yoga Kendra
Near Taxi-stand Muni-ki-reti, P.O. Shivanandanagar-249192, Distt. Tehri Garhwal, Uttarakhand, INDIA   -   Phone: ++91 135 2430763   -   Email: info@iyengaryoga.in